top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaylorWISE

BaylorWISE Spotlight: Ariel Leahy

This week's spotlight is Ariel Leahy, a biology PhD student in the Kienle lab!

What interested you to pursue a career in STEM?

I grew up in coastal South Carolina, so the ocean was a large part of my childhood. From the time I was little, I wanted to learn everything about the animals that call the ocean their home and whales had a particular hold on my heart (can you blame me?). In second grade, my class watched a documentary about two SCUBA divers and their encounters in the open ocean. There was a scene where a young humpback whale approach the divers so closely, they were able to reach out and scratch the whale just above its eye. That moment was magic to me, and I decided right then that I wanted to learn all the secrets of the whales.

How would you describe your work to the public?

I study many aspects of marine mammal physiology including anatomy, biomechanics, and diving physiology. In short, I study and compare the muscular anatomy and the style of swimming/underwater maneuvering between several species. I also look into the many adaptations these animals have developed in their blood vessels and soft tissues to accommodate their life in water.

Outside of the lab, what do you enjoy doing?

Outside of lab, my life revolves around experiencing life with the peopleI love. I enjoy sharing good food and conversation. I love watching the silly shenanigans my 3 little house predators (cats) get up to. And I love activities that welcome fun movement--like yoga and dancing.

Is there something during your research career that you have really enjoyed or want to share?

While my research far from glamorous (it's often pretty bloody and/or stinky), it has allowed me to interact with some really neat wild animals and to visit some beautiful places. I got the opportunity to conduct research in New Zealand this past summer and I fell in love with everything from the wildlife to the picturesque scenery.


If you can give a piece of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

Curiosity and the desire to learn will get you everywhere you need to go in STEM


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page