top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaylorWISE

BaylorWISE Spotlight: Sammie Weiss

This week's spotlight is Sammie Weiss, a PhD student in Dr. LeRoy's HEAL lab for the psychology and neuroscience department!

What interested you to pursue a career in STEM?

My dad is an electrical engineer and watching him solve complex spatial and mathematical problems has always been inspiring to me. When I entered middle school, I started learning more about biology and the brain, and I realized that I wanted to make discoveries that could improve human health.

How would you describe your work to the public?

I study the relationship between changes in someone's social environment (eg. loss of a loved one) and biological, health related factors like disease and wound healing.


Outside of the lab, what do you enjoy doing?

I enjoy spending time outside, painting, and watching sports.


If you can give a piece of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

The grass is always greener on the other side, do what makes you happy and don't worry about anyone else!

Is there a female scientist that particularly inspires you?

I am particularly inspired by Dr. Elissa Epel and her research on telomeres & healthy aging.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page