top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaylorWISE

BaylorWISE Spotlight: Grace V. Aquino

Next up in our spotlight series is our very own WISE Coordinator, Grace V. Aquino. She is a PhD Candidate in Environmental Science whose research is focused on how atmospheric pollutants affect brain cells.




What inspired you to pursue a career in STEM?

Although I don’t remember one specific moment or event that made me want to pursue a career in STEM, I remember several early-career, encouraging conversations with professors and mentors that undeniably contributed (and continue to contribute) to my decision to become a toxicologist. Their encouraging words, wise advice, and example as hard-working scientists who also recognize their own limitations as human beings ultimately helped me overcome any imposter-syndrome symptoms I was feeling and pursue a career in STEM.


How would you describe your work to the public?

My work focuses on understanding how atmospheric pollutants, specifically Diesel Exhaust Particles (DEP), affect brain cells. The Blood-brain barrier (BBB) and microglial cells are the first line of defense of the brain, and when exposed to these tiny nano-particles, they can become dysfunctional and promote the development of brain diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s. To better understand how changes in the BBB and microglia can lead to these diseases, my dissertation characterizes the cells’ inflammatory and other potentially harmful responses to short-term DEP exposure. Ultimately, by evaluating the toxic response of these cells to DEP we can find ways to prevent atmospheric pollution-related brain disease and/or how to better treat them. Indirectly, this work can help inform environmental regulations to be more protective of public health.


What do you enjoy doing the most?

One of the things I find most rewarding as a graduate student is the opportunity to teach and mentor younger students interested in toxicological research and science communication. Being a part of different science communication and outreach groups, including Baylor WISE, I enjoy co-hosting the WISE Seminar Series throughout the school year and coordinating STEM outreach events for audiences within Baylor and the local Waco community.Outside of STEM, my favorite pastimes are reading science fiction and true crime novels, doing yoga with friends, baking for friends, and cuddling with my cat Frazzle and potbelly pig Penelope.

What is an accomplishment that a younger you would have thought unachievable?

One of the achievements I am most proud of is having been awarded the Baylor Outstanding Graduate Student Teacher of Record Award for teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels during my first year of graduate school. As an introvert, I would have never thought that I would be speaking in public much less teaching introductory science courses and winning an award for it. While a younger me would have never thought I could win this award, in retrospect I think about the hours I invested in preparing myself, the relationships I intentionally built with my students, and my excitement for sharing and learning about different environmental issues alongside my students, and I am reminded that passion mixed with hard work always pays off.


If you could give a piece of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

The best piece of advice is one I received from an esteemed mentor and professor, Dr. Dana Dean: “You don’t always have to be the expert in the room, but always aim to be the person who learns the most.” As scientists or professionals in general, we sometimes feel the urge to compare ourselves to the accomplishments and the notoriety of others. Never let competition intimidate you or be your primary motivator because that is the quickest way to get burnt out in this field. Instead, find a supportive community of people who share the same interest and passions as you (both in STEM and outside of it), and always keep learning, helping others, and adapting to change as your top priorities.

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page