top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaylorWISE

BaylorWISE Spotlight: Hope Tucker

This week's spotlight is Hope Tucker, an undergraduate researcher working in the BASR lab!

What interested you to pursue a career in STEM?

I’ve always loved the natural world ever since I was a kid. The older I got, the more I realized how influential nature was in my faith, and that realization further inspired me to work to protect the natural world.

How would you describe your work to the public?

I am currently studying cyanotoxin production as it relates to nutrient availability in freshwater systems. Our research in the BASR lab examines both controlled conditions (established in the lab) as well as field conditions using samples which are collected from various lakes in Juiz de Fora, Brazil.

Outside of the lab, what do you enjoy doing?

I’m a big fan of crocheting, cooking colorful vegetarian meals, and shopping for plants at green houses :)

Is there something during your research career that you have really enjoyed or want to share?

I’ve worked mostly with cyanobacteria and zebrafish, and in both instances I’ve gotten to witness the beauty of growth and it’s just something that continues to amaze me.

If you can give a piece of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

I think, for women especially, it can be easy to second guess your abilities and hesitate to join a lab - but you won’t know your abilities if you don’t try! Just be confident in your ability to learn, and practice being gentle with yourself as you learn more about your strengths and weaknesses!


Is there a female scientist that particularly inspires you?

Rachel Carson

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page