top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaylorWISE

BaylorWISE Spotlight: Jenna Tobin

This week's spotlight is Jenna Tobin, an undergraduate researcher for the biology department in the Taube lab!

What interested you to pursue a career in STEM?

Growing up, I was immersed in an environment centered around healthcare and science. Inspired by my mom's oncologist, I developed a passion for advancing women's health. Her influence cultivated the vision that my dream career would be tied to making a meaningful impact in the field. I used her advice and took advantage of every opportunity that would allow me to learn more about the human body and question how to improve the lives of others around me. Winning the senior thesis capstone project in high school solidified my enthusiasm for addressing important questions and fostering my curiosity. My passion for research has continued to grow during my experience in the Taube Lab due to its encouraging and supportive environment!

How would you describe your work to the public?

In my research, I first evaluated compounds derived from a plant in Nigeria and its impact on triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC). I was then brought onto Project Ophiobolin-A, where I have been assisting my graduate mentor, Haleigh Parker, with the investigation of the fungal-derivative’s effects on mitochondrial dysfunction specific to TNBC. As I continue to explore the mechanism of Ophiobolin-A, I incorporated insights from a podcast on Rapamycin to evaluate the potential role in autophagy-induced cancer cell death. Currently, my focus is to understand the unique role of autophagy in TNBC and its connection to mitochondrial activity.

Outside of the lab, what do you enjoy doing?

I enjoy outdoor activities such as running, hiking, and catching as many sunsets as I can. Reading, listening to podcasts, cooking, and engaging in arts and crafts are also among my interests. Spending quality time with friends and family at sporting events is always a great time (go Giants!). I am the President of Special Olympics Unified at Baylor, where we foster inclusion and build connection with amazing athletes and their families through competitions and social gatherings.

Is there something during your research career that you have really enjoyed or want to share?

Delving into the complexities of breast cancer metastasis metabolomics was enlightening, but my true passion blossomed when I created my own project inspired by a podcast on Rapamycin. The grant I received from URSA was a pivotal moment, reinforcing my commitment to impactful research in women's health. The experience allowed me to engage in and enjoy the creative process that is involved in research.

 

Additionally, I am excited to be collaborating with Kayla Haberman and Lydia Allabaugh on STEM educational initiatives for Waco students and Baylor undergraduates through the program Present Your PhD. Bringing science to the Waco community and inspiring undergraduates at Baylor to improve their scientific communication skills is imperative in diversifying and advancing the research community!


If you can give a piece of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

Embrace the saying of "be comfortable with being uncomfortable." Challenging yourself in various roles fosters personal growth, but you can only do that when you seize every opportunity, especially if it promises to push your boundaries and contribute to your self-development.

Is there a female scientist that particularly inspires you?

Rosalind Franklin


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page