top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaylorWISE

BaylorWISE Spotlight: Maree Yard

Happy New Year, bears! This week's spotlight is Maree Yard, a research assistant for Waco Mammoth National Monument and the department of geosciences!

What interested you to pursue a career in STEM?

I wanted to work on the mammoth fossils from the Waco Mammoth National Monument. I was hoping to work as a researcher for a museum or university one day.

How would you describe your work to the public?

I study bones to understand how an animal lived, died, and was buried, fossilized, and eventually discovered.

Outside of the lab, what do you enjoy doing?

Musical theater, Pilates, traveling when I can, and hanging out with my husband and daughter.

Is there something during your research career that you have really enjoyed or want to share?

I have been fortunate to travel to different museums to study their specimens. I enjoy the conferences and talking to people about my research. Any opportunity to network is what I like. I am just trying to find my way in this world and become part of a community.

If you can give a piece of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

“No” should never stop you. Take it as constructive criticism, understand where you can improve, and take the necessary steps to become better.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page