top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaylorWISE

BaylorWISE Spotlight: Ragene Thornton

This week's spotlight is Ragene Thornton, a chemistry graduate student in the Martin lab!

What interested you to pursue a career in STEM?

I first gained interest in science in 4th grade when I challenged myself to make the classic baking soda-vinegar volcano. I had learned the principles of this reaction while in class and I had been ecstatic about the idea of being able to make it all by myself. Unfortunately, when it came time to amaze my classmates with my volcano during the presentation section of the fair, my volcano barely bubbled. I was incredibly disappointed and once returning home I realized that I had made a fatal error when building my volcano; I had added baking powder rather than baking soda. At that moment, my 10-year-old mind had an epiphany: I realized that chemicals/ compounds are not interchangeable and changing a reagent can drastically change the outcome of an experiment. Of course, as a child I didn’t recognize that despite the fact that both baking powder and baking soda are both white powders used in baked goods, they are two different mixtures with different functions/reactivities. From that point, I became really intrigued about the complexities of chemistry.

How would you describe your work to the public?

I am a synthetic inorganic chemist whose day-to-day activities include conducting air and moisture sensitive boron-based reactions. These reactions are defined as “hydroboration reactions” which entail isolating compounds with new boron-carbon bonds. These compounds can then be used in fundamental cross-coupling reactions that often yield novel natural products.

Outside of the lab, what do you enjoy doing?

Whenever I have free time I enjoy weightlifting, hiking, jogging along the bear trail and lounging at home with my two cats.


Is there something during your research career that you have really enjoyed or want to share?

Throughout my research career I have had plenty of opportunities to learn a new skill/technique and each experience has done wonders in advancing my competency and confidence as a chemist. Although I have only had a handful of opportunities to share what I have learned by mentoring I have always found these experiences more valuable. A prime example is during Baylor’s Advanced Instrumentation Workshop (AIW), where I am able to work with students who do not have access to some of the equipment I often take for granted.

If you can give a piece of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

Take any chance offered to further your career and do not hesitate to try something new! Any lab experience can be valuable for a scientist, so do not take undergrad research for granted.

Is there a female scientist that particularly inspires you?

Mae Jemison

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page