top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaylorWISE

BaylorWISE Spotlight: Sandra Rosero Rueda

This week's spotlight is Sandra Rosero Rueda, a PhD student in geophysics!

What interested you to pursue a career in STEM?

Geoscience has been at the center of my life for many years. My interest in science and nature began in my early years at secondary school in Colombia, a country with a very vast and rich geology. It has always fascinated me to see the variety of landscapes in my country and how they change dramatically within a relatively short driving distance. From the mountains to the ocean, around the jungle and the desert, I see my country’s land as one of the most interesting and relatively unexplored geological fields.

When I started my physics degree, I joined a group of geosciences students, and that's when things took a fascinating turn. Geophysics and seismology caught my eye, and I knew I wanted to dive deeper into that stuff. I got an internship in a geosciences lab in Colombia, and that experience solidified my passion for the geophysics field. After that, I studied for a master's degree in geology and geophysics in Puerto Rico and worked as a graduate student in geophysics data analysis at the Puerto Rico Seismic Network. Now, I'm stoked to be in my second year of a PhD program in Geophysics at Baylor University.

How would you describe your work to the public?

My research focuses on the analysis of the lithosphere of the Hispaniola, Puerto Rico, and Virgin Islands microplates in the Caribbean plate. The Caribbean Plate, which is located in the middle between the North and South American plates, is a region with great seismic activity and high tectonic complexity due to its location. For example, little is known about the origin of deep earthquakes that occur within Hispaniola, more precisely to the east, where the Dominican Republic is located. That is why, through the study of seismic tomography and the use of seismic data, it will be possible to understand what happens or what the dynamic is inside the Caribbean plate, or more properly, in the northeast where the two microplates are situated. Seismic tomography is a technique used to understand the internal structure of the Earth through 2D or 3D images acquired from seismic data produced by earthquakes that were recorded by sensors or seismometers.

Outside of the lab, what do you enjoy doing?

I love being in nature, which is why every time I have the opportunity, I don't hesitate to take a break and recharge myself outdoors, whether hiking in the mountains, going to the beach, or visiting natural parks. I also like to share with my family and friends. Finally, I enjoy participating in geoscience congresses and meeting new people.

Is there something during your research career that you have really enjoyed or want to share?

Without a doubt, the experience of doing my graduate studies and having to move to a new country It was many times that I felt that I started again, that is, I changed my life routine, my style of clothing, my food, etc. But at the same time, I feel very grateful to God because it was something I really longed for. In recent years, I have met wonderful people who have changed my way of thinking and helped me become who I am today.

If you can give a piece of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

This question is really close to my heart. If I had to give advice to young people, I'd say, 'Imagine big and go after your dreams.' Don't let anyone, even if they're close to you, convince you that something's impossible. Stay determined and put in the effort. When you're unsure about something, never hesitate to ask questions, especially from people you look up to. Stay curious, because even though the path might seem tough, dreams can become a reality.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page