top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaylorWISE

BaylorWISE Spotlight: Taylor Jefferis

This week's spotlight is Taylor Jefferis, a graduate research assistant for the Sayes lab in the environmental science department!

What interested you to pursue a career in STEM?

I was originally pre-med, but during undergrad, I worked on a research project with one of my professors and found that I really enjoyed it and wanted to continue working in research after I graduated!

How would you describe your work to the public?

I primarily study chemicals and particles present in the air, and how they affect human lung cells.

Outside of the lab, what do you enjoy doing?

I enjoy reading fiction novels, watching sports, and hanging out with my friends & family (especially my dog Lady).

Is there something during your research career that you have really enjoyed or want to share?

I have really enjoyed meeting new people who share the same passion for science as I do, especially my lab mates who have helped me to learn a lot during my first year as a grad student!

If you can give a piece of advice to the younger generation, what would it be?

I would tell them to try new things and take advantage of every opportunity you're presented with because you never know what may come from it.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page